Please disable your Ad Blocker to better interact with this website.


Championship Weekend

This past weekend was Championship Weekend in the College Football Bowl Subdivision, during which the following conference games were played:  the American Athletic Conference (AAC), the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), the Big 12 Conference, the Big Ten Conference, Conference USA (C-USA), the Mid-American Conference (MAC), the Mountain West Conference (MWC), the Pac-12 Conference, the Southeastern Conference (SEC), and the Sun Belt Conference.

As exciting as these games are, one should wonder if some of them are necessary, i.e. the Big 12 and the Sun Belt Championship games.  The reason I say this is because both conferences have only ten schools each, and thus have no need for a championship game (and divisions in the case of the Sun Belt Conference).  The way I see it, a conference should only have a championship game (and divisions) if it has twelve or more schools as members.

Personally I feel the Southwest Conference should be brought back, and it would consist of the following schools:  Texas, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, TCU, Baylor, Rice, Houston, SMU, UTEP, North Texas, Texas State, and Texas-San Antonio.  Of course, doing this would mean the Southwest Conference would have twelve schools and thus need divisions and a conference championship game.

I also feel the Big East Conference should be brought back, and it could be comprised of the following schools:  Massachusetts, Boston College, Connecticut, Army, Syracuse, Rutgers, Pittsburgh, Penn State, Temple, West Virginia, and Navy.  Since there would only be eleven schools, a conference title game would not be necessary, and the Army-Navy could still be the final game of the regular season (and even played on Saturday night as part of Championship Weekend).

Meanwhile, the ACC consist of Maryland, Virginia, Virginia Tech, North Carolina, North Carolina State, Duke, Wake Forest, East Carolina, Clemson, Georgia Tech, Florida State, and Miami.

The Big Ten can consist of Ohio State, Michigan, Michigan State, Indiana, Purdue, Notre Dame, Illinois, Northwestern, Wisconsin, and Minnesota (and thus no need for a conference championship game).

The SEC can revert to consisting of Kentucky, Tennessee, Vanderbilt, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Auburn, Mississippi, Mississippi State, LSU, and Arkansas.

The Big 12 can be comprised of Iowa, Iowa State, Missouri, Nebraska, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Tulsa, Colorado, Colorado State, and Air Force.

The Mountain West Conference can consist of Wyoming, New Mexico, New Mexico State, Boise State, Utah, Utah State, BYU, Nevada, UNLV, Fresno State, and San Jose State (and no need for a conference title game since it would only have eleven schools).

The Pac-12 Conference can be comprised of Arizona, Arizona State, Washington, Washington State, Oregon, Oregon State, California, Stanford, USC, UCLA, San Diego State, and Hawaii.

The Mid-American Conference can be comprised of its current schools:  Buffalo, Ohio, Bowling Green, Miami-Ohio, Akron, Kent State, Toledo, Eastern Michigan, Western Michigan, Central Michigan, Ball State, and Northern Illinois.

Conference USA can consist of Cincinnati, Louisville, Marshall, Memphis, Central Florida, South Florida, Florida Atlantic, Charlotte, Florida International, Mid-Tennessee State, Old Dominion, UAB, Southern Miss, and Tulane.

The Sun Belt conference can be comprised of Liberty, Western Kentucky, Louisiana Tech, Appalachian State, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Troy, Coastal Carolina, Arkansas State, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, and South Alabama.

The American Athletic Conference would be done away as a result of this realignment.

Thus, the only conferences that would have championship games would be the ACC, the SEC, the Southwest Conference, the MAC, the Pac-12 Conference, the Big 12 Conference, Conference USA, and the Sun Belt Conference.  In addition, the Sun Belt title game could be played on a Thursday night, while the MAC title game be played on a Friday night.  As for the Saturday games, the ACC, Big 12, Southwest, and Conference USA title games could be the early games, while the SEC and Pac-12 title games can be played later in the afternoon.  And as I mentioned earlier, the Army-Navy can be the night game.

So there you have it.  Nine games on Championship Weekend.

And that’s the way it should be.


Andrew Linn

Andrew Linn is a member of the Owensboro Tea Party and a former Field Representative for the Media Research Center. An ex-Democrat, he became a Republican one week after the 2008 Presidential Election. He has an M.A. in history from the University of Louisville, where he became a member of the Phi Alpha Theta historical honors society. He has also contributed to and Right Impulse Media.